Corona Update: India allows drug exports, says don’t politicise issue I Govt mulls extending lockdown beyond April 14 I Positive Cases in Telagnana Cross 400 mark I Kurnool in Corona Danger Zone |

The meteoric rise of Jagan

30-05-201930-05-2019 11:01:08 IST
2019-05-30T05:31:08.214Z30-05-2019 2019-05-30T05:31:06.402Z - - 09-04-2020

The meteoric rise of Jagan

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, popularly known as Jagan has emerged tall in Andhra Pradesh after an epic electoral win, trouncing his rivals to claim the top seat.

YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, the President of the YSR Congress Party, who made his electoral debut in the year 2009, the same year in which his father YS Rajasekhara Reddy or YSR, became the Chief Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh for the consecutive second time.

The political journey of the businessman-turned-politician has indeed been meteoric. Nearly a decade after YSR was tragically killed in a helicopter crash, Jagan who won the Lok Sabha seat in 2009 from home turf Kadappa, is set to succeed him as chief minister. While Jagan was ready to take over as CM after his father's death and had the backing of many legislators, the Congress party, then led by Sonia Gandhi, had other plans and propped up K Rosaiah in the chief minister's chair whom they replaced with Kiran Kumar Reddy. 

Jagan, along with his mother Y S Vijayamma, quit the Congress in 2010 to start his own party.

Jagan had then faced a series of corruption charges, which were slapped on him and his aides by the CBI after the High Court ordered a probe against him. He was arrested and jailed in 2012 and spent a total of 16 months in prison before being released on bail, just a few months before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

In 2014 general elections, YSRCP won 67 seats in the Assembly and ate into the Congress vote ban, relegating it to third place in the state.

Success eluded him in 2014 as Chandrababu Naidu who had tied up with actor Pawan Kalyan's Janasena and BJP won the assembly elections by a whisker. The margin of votes of the alliance and YSRCP was just 1.8%. 

There was also massive poaching of his MPs and MLAs by Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP). As a whole 23 MLAs and 3 MPs switched sides from YSRCP to TDP. 

Jagan geared himself up for another fight with a record 'padayatra', which stretched for 14 months and ended this January. Jagan travelled through all the districts of Andhra Pradesh talking to, shaking hands with and mingling with people, emulating his father's trademark style.

The 47-year-old leader finally rose to power after the 2019 elections defeating a 69-year-old Chandrababu Naidu who had snapped ties with the BJP. Before the results, he even tried to stitch an alliance against NDA to form government at the centre. However, things turned in a different way and gave a massive mandate to BJP and YSRCP at the centre and in the state respectively. 

Jagan will take oath as the second chief minister of Andhra Pradesh post bifurcation. Governor ESL Narasimhan will administer the oath of office and secrecy at Vijayawada's Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium at 12.23 pm.

The YSRCP got an absolute majority in 175-member strong Assembly. The party won 151 seats out of 175, whereas TDP's strength was drastically reduced a mere 23, the number of MLAs who switched sides during 2014-2019 from YSRCP to TDp. YSRCP polled almost 55% of polled votes. TDP got a 39.2 per cent vote share. One seat went to the Jana Sena Party led by actor-turned-politician Pawan Kalyan. BJP drew a blank.

YSRCP also bagged 22 Lok Sabha seats out of 25, while TDP could get only three seats.

      040 23600300

Daily Updates