Corona Update: India allows drug exports, says don’t politicise issue I Govt mulls extending lockdown beyond April 14 I Positive Cases in Telagnana Cross 400 mark I Kurnool in Corona Danger Zone |

AP CM Jagan transfers 47 AIS officers at one go

05-06-201905-06-2019 09:36:05 IST
2019-06-05T04:06:05.536Z05-06-2019 2019-06-05T04:05:57.957Z - - 08-04-2020

AP CM Jagan transfers 47 AIS officers at one go

Andhra Pradesh government transferred 45 IAS and IPS officers on Tuesday as part of rejigging the administration by new Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy.

The officers considered close to the previous government were either posted to insignificant posts or attached to  General Administration Department for further postings.

Chief Secretary L V Subrahmanyam issued four different orders, transferring 41 IAS, four IPS, and two IFS officers. A total of 47 officers were transferred.

This is the largest number of officials transferred since Jagan Reddy took over as the Chief Minister on May 30, following the massive victory of his YSR Congress Party in the Assembly elections.

D. Gautam Sawang, Director General, Vigilance and Enforcement & Ex-officio Principal Secretary, was transferred and posted as Chairman, A.P. Road Safety Authority. He will continue in full additional charge of the post of Director General of Police.

Immediately after assuming office, CM Jagan had shunted out the then DGP RP Thakur and in his place appointed Gautam Sawang as the police chief. CM Jagan further sent out four key officials from CMO and they are still waiting for new postings.

Ajay Jain, Principal Secretary, Energy, I&I, CRDA was transferred and was attached to GAD for further posting. He was one of the key officials considered close to Naidu.

The government appointed RP Sisodia, Principal Secretary, Tribal Welfare as Principal Secretary, (Political), GAD in place of Srikant Nagulapalli.

K. Vijayanand, Managing Director, Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corporation (APGENCO), was transferred and was attached to GAD for further posting.

Mukesh Kumar Meena, Commissioner, Prohibition & Excise and M.D, A.P. Beverages Corporation Ltd, was also transferred and posted as Secretary, Social Welfare Department.

In other key transfer, Dr. P.Lakshminarasimham, Secretary, Services & HRM, General Administration Department, was transferred and posted as the Commissioner, Capital Region Development Authority. Dr. C. Sridhar, who was holding the post, was attached to GAD for further posting.

Peeyush Kumar, Secretary, Finance Department was posted as Commissioner, Commercial Taxes.

Barring Krishna, Kadapa, Srikakulam, and Vijayanagaram, collectors of remaining seven districts were also transferred.

Ajeya Kallam reinstated

In another major development, retired IAS officer and former Andhra Pradesh Chief Secretary Ajeya Kallam was appointed as the Chief Minister's principal advisor and he will now hold the rank of a cabinet minister.

Kallam, who retired as the Chief Secretary in 2017, will be head of the CMO and allocate the subjects between secretaries. He will be authorised to call for advice from across the departments and all advisors of the government will also be accountable to him.

According to the GO, the term of appointment of Kallam will be initially for three years and he will be paid fixed remuneration of Rs 2.5 lakh per month. 

After his retirement, Kallam had come out publicly to criticise Naidu, accusing the former CM of corruption, especially where the construction of capital Amaravati was concerned. 

Meanwhile, the government also issued orders for the creation of nine posts in the office of the Principal Advisor.

      040 23600300

Daily Updates